Preliminary Critique #2

Post links to your Project Three websites for discussion and feedback.

Which should I pick to work on?

Ol' Blue
56%
Chalkboard
44%

Total votes: 9

chaytothet

Preliminary Critique #2

Post by chaytothet »

Hey Guys!

Here are my mockups for the new website, here is the original link: http://www.fernridge.k12.or.us/

This is the School District that I graduated from, I'm not sure their site has had an update since I graduated in 2010.

Here are my Redesigns, I'm happier with the Blue version, but I'm open to anything. I would like to incorporate some images for some visual interest, but I'm not sure how to because all the pictures I'm able to find are all pretty small. Maybe I should just have a images section..? I'm not sure yet.

Any and all feedback is welcome!
Attachments
Chalkboard
Chalkboard
Chalkboard
Chalkboard
Ol' Blue
Ol' Blue
Ol' Blue
Ol' Blue
-Chalyn

Just because my path is different doesn't mean I'm lost
-Gerard Abrams

Ltrueworthy

Re: Preliminary Critique #2

Post by Ltrueworthy »

I love Ol' Blue but I'm wondering if maybe adding some more colors to it might make it pop, one or two colors nothing crazy. Besides that I love the font and the layout. It is easy to follow and allows to the viewers to find what they are looking for quickly. I wonder if there is a way to make a search button if people need something very specific (like a magnifying glass looking thing) but that's just a thought, I really like it anyways.
Good Job!
Lea Trueworthy

erika.murray

Post by erika.murray »

The blue layout has a really cool style to it and the typeface is eye-catching. Your chalkboard layout is nice as well, but I feel that it targets a younger audience, whereas the blue layout targets a widespread audience. Instead of having so much space between words on the leftmost column of the blue inner page, you could tighten that up and add more information underneath. Good job!
Fate, my friend, you say the strangest things

Erika Murray