Project 1, First Preliminary Critique

Post links to your Project One websites for discussion and feedback.
lornrocks

Project 1, First Preliminary Critique

Post by lornrocks »

Hi, I'm Lauren, here are my links and roughs for Project 1. For this project, I decided to design web pages that reflect my personality. I could have went with a photo theme since I am a photographer, but opted to try some more graphic, illustrative elements instead, and so I have put in some drawings I've done. I wanted to emulate the style of web page we did in Brian's 119 class so the individual pages once you click on the links won't be too different.

Here are two websites I found inspirational:

http://www.colourlovers.com/
A website I used almost every day when I was working at UNR, I would filter using certain colors or search through themes for color schemes for posters and brochures I was designing. I had a whole folder saved with color schemes I liked.

http://designersof.com/
Another website I perused a lot when I was working at UNR, I would look through the archive for ideas on layouts and new trends in typography and illustration. Most of the designs on here are usually print or illustrative but sometimes they have good layout ideas for websites and product designs as well.
grc175_proj1_layout2.jpg
This layout is inspired by a popular Russian advertisement that people have co-opted for pretty much everything. I chose a darker color scheme to match the colors I chose for the drawing of me and to match the theme. The links on the navigation bar will go to each page, and the content will go where the gray box is on the "home" page or will link to the new web page for each project, depending on what each link is.
grc175_proj1_layout1.jpg